Bill Snyder

December 31, 2012

Atlanta, Georgia:Officials of the The Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Award Foundation, Inc. announced during halftime of the Chick-fil-A Bowl that Kansas State University Head Football Coach Bill Snyder was unanimously selected as the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year for 2012. The award is presented each year by the Chick-fil-A Bowl.

“Everyone associated with the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation is thrilled at the selection of Coach Snyder for this very prestigious coaching award,” said Jim Terry, Chairman of the Dodd Foundation. “Coach Snyder has an outstanding reputation, and we respect his leadership on the field, as well as the many accomplishments of the team in the classroom and in life. He definitely fulfills the stringent requirements set for the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Award. Congratulations, Coach Snyder. And, congratulations to the entire Kansas State University football team, staff, administration, students and fans.”

“We are excited and proud to be associated with this prestigious coaching award, and we are thrilled at the selection of Coach Snyder as the winner of the 2012 Dodd Trophy,” added Gary Stokan, president of the Chick-fil-A Bowl. “He is an impressive, enthusiastic and successful head coach of one of the nation’s top programs who has exhibited strong leadership, scholarship and integrity skills in his entire coaching career. Congratulations, Coach Snyder.”

The annual Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year winner is determined by a vote from all previous winners of the award, plus a vote from a blue-ribbon panel made up from the “who’s who” in college football.

Coach Snyder led the Kansas State University Wildcats to a very successful 11-1 season this year, and will be playing in the BCS Fiesta Bowl on January 3.

The Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Award was established in 1976 to honor the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division 1A) football coach whose program represents the highest ideals on and off the field. The Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Award honors the coach of a team which enjoys a successful football season, while also stressing the importance of academic excellence and character, as did Coach Dodd’s teams during his 22 years as head football coach of the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets. Coach Dodd remains one of college football’s legendary figures, both as a coach and a player. Coach Dodd was a native of Galax, Virginia, and played his college ball at the University of Tennessee where his team had 27 wins, one loss and two ties during the three years he played. Coach Dodd was selected to the National College Football Hall of Fame both as a coach and as a player.

The formal presentation of the 2012 Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Award to Coach Bill Snyder will be made in Manhattan, Kansas in March 2013. The Dodd Trophy is presented annually by the Chick-fil-A Bowl.

Additional information about the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation can be found at

More information on the Chick-fil-A Bowl is available at

  Lloyd Carr

2011 Dabo Swinney
Clemson University

click photo for video presentation

Lloyd Carr

2010 Chris Petersen
Boise State University

click photo for video presentation

  Lloyd Carr

2009 Gary Patterson

click photo for video presentation

Mack Brown

2008 Mack Brown
The University of Texas

click photo for video presentation

  Lloyd Carr

2007 Lloyd Carr
University of Michigan

Jim Grobe 2006 Jim Grobe
Wake Forest University
  Joe Paterno 2005 Joe Paterno
Penn State University
Paul Johnson 2004 Paul Johnson
US Naval Academy
  Bob Stoops 2003 Bob Stoops
University of Oklahoma
Jim Tressel 2002 Jim Tressel
The Ohio Sate University
  Ralph Friedgen 2001 Ralph Friedgen
University of Maryland
George O'Leary 2000 George O'Leary
Georgia Tech
  Frank Beamer 1999 Frank Beamer
Virginia Tech
Bill Snyder 1998 Bill Snyder
Kansas State University
  Mike Price 1997 Mike Price
Washington State University
Bob Sutton 1996 Bob Sutton
United States Military Academy
  Gary Barnett 1995 Gary Barnett
Northwestern University
Fred Goldsmith 1994 Fred Goldsmith
Duke University
  Barry Alvarez 1993 Barry Alvarez
University of Wisconsin
Eddie Robinson 1992 Eddie Robinson
Grambling State University
  George Welsh 1991 George Welsh
University of Virginia
Bobby Ross 1990 Bobby Ross
Georgia Tech
  Bill Curry 1989 Bill Curry
University of Alabama
Don Nehlen 1988 Don Nehlen
West Virginia University
  Dick MacPherson 1987 Dick MacPherson
Syracuse University
Dick Sheridan 1986 Dick Sheridan
North Carolina State
  Fisher DeBerry 1985 Fisher DeBerry
Air Force Academy
Jim Wacker 1984 Jim Wacker
Texas Christian Academy
  Ken Hatfield 1983 Ken Hatfield
Air Force Academy
George Macintyre 1982 George Macintyre
Vanderbilt University
  Joe Paterno 1981 Joe Paterno
Penn State University
Bobby Bowden 1980 Bobby Bowden
Florida State University
  LaVell Edwards 1979 LaVell Edwards
Brigham Young University
Tom Osborne 1978 Tom Osborne
University of Nebraska
  Bo Schembechler

1977 Bo Schembechler
University of Michigan

Vince Dooley 1976 Vince Dooley
University of Georgia